Eternal Procession

Album Tomi Lebrero

2000 kilometers on horseback, from Buenos Aires to the northern province of Salta. For Eternal Procession, bandoneon player Tomi Lebrero and musician and filmmaker Segundo Bercetche saddled up to meet the country’s musicians and their instruments.

Tomi Lebebro with Bandoneon on a horse.

Equipped with three horses and the bandoneon as a door opener, they encountered local inhabitants, their humor, their lives and their songs at festivals, during ceremonies and in everyday life. The album Eternal Procession retraces this fascinating musical journey through rural Argentina.

The Gauchos of Pampa (1/4)

The Pampas region in Argentina includes the provinces of Buenos Aires, Santa Fe and Córdoba. It is the most productive area of the country. In the first scene we show a typical rural road planted with soybeans, which is the most successful and widespread crop of the last twenty years. Although this development has attacked musical traditions, many “gauchos” still live in the region which has much admiration for the horse.

Read more Read less

Singing with the Santiaguenos (2/4)

Santiago del Estero is a province with few economic resources, where people have much love for their land and folklore. In this province there are still people who speak “Quichua”, the language of the Inca Empire. Carlos Coria, a bandoneon player from Santiagueño, welcomes Tomi and his horses. They talk about the difficulties of traveling on horseback nowadays. Juan Díaz is a bandoneon player with whom Tomi has taken lessons, so he gives Tomi some lessons on the folkloric style of the bandoneon.

Read more Read less

Lonely Coplas in Salta (3/4)

Salta: Further into the Andes, at an altitude of almost 3000 meters, Tomi arrives with his horses in the Quebrada de Escoipe. There he meets Normando Tolaba, who like so many in this area has learned to sing “coplas” with his “caja” (drum) thanks to his mother. Normando has his farm up in the mountains where he works the land. The “coplas” he sings are for the goats, the harvest, or even to describe the loneliness that plagues these remote places. Afterwards, we enjoy the festivities following the Payogasta procession, where hundreds of gauchos greet the Virgin on horseback.

Easter Processions in Jujuy (4/4)

The procession to Punta Corral in Jujuy takes place in the days before Maundy Thursday (Easter). The sikuris bands from the region parade for two days in groups of sikuris, drums and cymbals to look for the Virgin at an altitude of about 4000 meters and bring her to the town of Tilcara. At the top of the hills, more than 70 bands play their marches, sometimes all the bands play at the same time, resulting in a chaotic polyphony that is sometimes indescribable, but certainly beautiful. After a brief religious ceremony, the bands salute the image of the Virgin and a group of women with sheep quarters precede the procession, performing a dance called “cuarteadas”.

Read more Read less

Involved Artists

Stay up to date!

Don't miss any new albums and news about artists with our newsletter. No spam, just music

Zur Anmeldung

Eternal Procession

Album Tomi Lebrero

2000 Kilometer auf dem Pferd, von Buenos Aires bis in die nördliche Provinz Salta. Für „Eternal Procession“ haben der Bandoneon-Spieler Tomi Lebrero und der Musiker und Filmemacher Segundo Bercetche aufgesattelt, um die Musiker des Landes und ihre Instrumente kennenzulernen.

Mit drei Pferden und dem Bandoneon als Türöffner lernten sie auf Festen, bei Zeremonien und im ganz normalen Alltag die Menschen, ihren Humor, ihr Leben und ihre Lieder kennen. Auf dem Album „Eternal Procession“ kann diese faszinierende musikalische Reise durch das ländliche Argentinien nachgehört werden.

Die Gauchos von Pampa (1/4)

Die Region Pampa in Argentinien umfasst die Provinzen Buenos Aires, Santa Fe und Córdoba. Sie ist das produktivste Gebiet des Landes. In der ersten Szene zeigen wir eine typische Landstraße, die mit Sojabohnen bepflanzt ist, der erfolgreichsten und am weitesten verbreiteten Kulturpflanze der letzten zwanzig Jahre. Obwohl diese Entwicklung die musikalischen Traditionen angegriffen hat, leben noch viele „Gauchos“ in der Region, die das Pferd sehr verehren.

Read more Read less

Singen mit den Santiaguenos (2/4)

Santiago del Estero ist eine Provinz mit wenigen wirtschaftlichen Ressourcen, in der die Menschen viel Liebe zu ihrem Land und ihrer Folklore haben. In dieser Provinz gibt es noch Menschen, die „Quichua“, die Sprache des Inkareichs, sprechen. Carlos Coria, ein Bandoneonspieler aus Santiagueño, heißt Tomi und seine Pferde willkommen. Sie sprechen über die Schwierigkeiten, die das Reisen zu Pferd heutzutage mit sich bringt. Juan Díaz ist ein Bandoneonspieler, bei dem Tomi Unterricht genommen hat und er gibt Tomi einige Lektionen im folkloristischen Stil des Bandoneonspiels.

Read more Read less

Einsame Coplas in Salta (3/4)

Salta: Weiter in den Anden, auf fast 3000 Metern Höhe, kommt Tomi mit seinen Pferden in der Quebrada de Escoipe an. Dort trifft er Normando Tolaba, der wie so viele in dieser Gegend dank seiner Mutter gelernt hat, mit seiner „Caja“ (Trommel) „Coplas“ zu singen. Normando hat seinen Bauernhof oben in den Bergen, wo er das Land bearbeitet. Die „Coplas“, die er singt, sind für die Ziegen, die Ernte oder auch, um die Einsamkeit zu beschreiben, die diese abgelegenen Orte plagt. Anschließend genießen wir die Feierlichkeiten im Anschluss an die Payogasta-Prozession, bei der Hunderte von Gauchos die Jungfrau zu Pferd begrüßen.

Osterprozessionen in Jujuy (4/4)

Die Prozession nach Punta Corral in Jujuy findet in den Tagen vor Gründonnerstag (Ostern) statt. Die Sikuris-Kapellen aus der Region ziehen zwei Tage lang in Gruppen mit Sikuris, Trommeln und Zimbeln umher, um die Jungfrau in einer Höhe von etwa 4000 Metern zu suchen und sie in die Stadt Tilcara zu bringen. Oben auf den Hügeln spielen mehr als 70 Musikkapellen ihre Märsche, manchmal auch alle gleichzeitig, was zu einer chaotischen Polyphonie führt, die manchmal unbeschreiblich, aber auf jeden Fall wunderschön ist. Nach einer kurzen religiösen Zeremonie grüßen die Musikkapellen das Bildnis der Jungfrau Maria und eine Gruppe von Frauen mit Schafsvierteln geht der Prozession voraus und führt einen Tanz namens „Cuarteadas“ auf.

Read more Read less

Beteiligte Künstler

Bleiben Sie up to date!

Verpasse keine neuen Alben und News zu Künstler*innen mit unserem Newsletter. Kein Spam, nur Musik

Zur Anmeldung